the agony of healthy eating vs the ecstasy of giving in to forbidden treats everyday


I guess you know where most balikbayans go as soon as their plane lands in Manila right?  Thanks and acknowledgment for the photo to imgbuddy.com!

…In my dream last night, I had the pick of four eating places, and because I got to do whatever I want, I went to all four! Guess you know where most balikbayans go as soon as their plane lands in Manila right? Thanks and acknowledgment for the photo to imgbuddy.com!

[ Note : When you pause to think about it, the one universal constant pleasure in life isn’t sex, fame, beauty or wealth.  It’s eating, and eating for pleasure.  Why I just had that thought, I don’t know.  Thanks for reading! ]

TO the worksite, I almost always bring a packed lunch, courtesy of Mahal (but you knew that already right?).  Usually it’s rice and a meat/vegetable dish, sometimes spring rolls or noodles, but always sauteed with trim meat, olive oil (when we can afford it) and as little salt as possible.

Doing kitchen miracles daily, esposa hermosa manages to combine healthy eating and yummy munching, and I usually finish whatever she gives me.

What she doesn’t know is that I also manage to undo all her efforts especially on days I get home earlier than she.

a business desk : all serious business on top, and the real, more important stuff in the drawers below. :) Problem is, it's too easy to find. :(

a business desk : all serious business on top, and the real, more important stuff in the drawers below. 🙂 Problem is, it’s too easy to find. 😦 thanks and acknowledgment for the pic to hello-anna-and-mo.com!

I eat all the chichirya (my favorites : Bluebird green onion and chives, Signature Brand or Pam’s green onion and chives, and any other brand’s green onion and chives, although I’m also partial to salt and vinegar flavors) in sight, and if Mahal’s gone to the Pinoy store and stashed Jack & Jill, especially Piatto’s or V-Cut, then I know all her hiding places, and guzzle them down.

I also take care of whatever leftovers there are from any previous meals as we have no pets that should do that for us; and a very environment conscious waste disposal policy:  I taste anything that’s still edible, then eat it before we dispose of it.

*****    *****     *****

I don’t know if it’s the tiredness from the workday  or the sugar-salt deprivation from breakfast and lunch (remember the healthy baon?) that makes me ravenously hungry, I really end up guilty from all that sinful eating.  However, by the time Mahal comes home with dinner on the agenda, I conveniently forget my misdeeds.

Just as with salty treats, I’m equally hopeless with sugar.  Gummy bears, fruit bursts, hard candy, I stuff my mouth with everything, no discrimination and everyone welcome.  And this is probably why :

oatmeal for breakfast : "pwede bang matulog na lang uli?" thanks and acknowledgment for the photo to womenshealthmag.com!

oatmeal for breakfast : “pwede bang matulog na lang uli?” thanks and acknowledgment for the photo to womenshealthmag.com!

In the morning, I eat an oatmeal breakfast, with organic milk that Mahal buys when it’s available, honey instead of sugar, and fresh fruit bits mixed in.  So healthy I could die right there and go to heaven, but with a breakfast like that, I’ll live for another century at least, knock on narra.

I probably don’t need to tell you that the breakfast is a politically-correct version that I consume mainly for Mahal’s benefit.  By midday my blood sugar is so low I’m seeing stars before they come out.  My corrective action is vacuuming whatever sweets there are at home, using my mouth as the vacuum cleaner.  So now I have not only salt overload, but sugar overload. It’s a wonder I don’t pass out from junk food.

*****     *****     *****

I try my best to drink as much water as I can throughout the day.  It’s the one eating habit I do well, because my physical activity and running / walking around gets me thirsty often, and I’ve heard someone say that by the time you feel the thirst, your body has needed water forever.  Nearly everytime I’m near the cooler, I swallow a glass or so.

Again, it’s too much for me to resist the 1.5 L of cola that they’re literally giving away at the supermarket, bless their souls.  I don’t know how I find any more space for coke, given the amount of water I’ve guzzled.  But I do.

*****     *****     *****

Given the great weather the last few weeks, Mahal and I have started a nightly habit of strolling after dinner.  Just as well, because after the junk food today, the big dinner, and all the snacks in between, I really really need some instant exercise.

We walk and walk and walk, as much for conversation as for relief from the fullness.  We talk about events of the day, and how to get game ready for the next day.  Also what we’d like to do the weekend next, and the weekend after that.

Wouldn’t you know?  As a treat for eating all those healthy packed lunches, after that walk, and from the freezer Mahal gives me a sweet surprise.

A tub of my favorite ice cream flavor, boysenberry ripple!   Waaaaaaaaah!

****     *****    *****

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

