belated happy birthday Stefanie Victorino!


Stef is in the middle between Maribeth Ang-Wong (checkered blouse) and Arlene Ayuste (denim blazer), among high school batchmates. ;)

Stef is in the middle (in white) between Maribeth Ang-Wong (checkered blouse) and Arlene Ayuste (denim blazer), among high school batchmates. 😉 still pretty after all these years!

I’d like to say I’m good at remembering birthdays, but that would be stretching the truth.  In fact, it would be a real whopper, since besides my own, my immediate family and a few others, anything with a month and a number besides it are good only as holidays, discount-voucher deadlines and due dates for library books I haven’t finished.

It happened again last month when I completely forgot the birthday of a dear friend, Stefanie Victorino.  I’ve known her since late primary school, and she has been a funny, thoughtful, and constant companion in the journey of life.  I have not always benefited from her physical presence the last few years, but because of the magic of the internet and SMS messaging, she has provided a ready ear and her unfailing counsel almost instantly, as if we  had never been apart.

Whenever I come home and visit the homeland, she is always among the first to organize a get-together with contemporaries during which we laugh, rebond, and share thoughts with friends who have always been such and will be friends for life.  As a friend, you can’t do much better than that.

Stef has always aimed for and earned the best, whether at school, at work, or anything she has attempted in life.  So much so that she has met with success in academics, her job, and in social life.

The only area where I can claim to be a bit better than her is in selecting bosom buddies.  I can safely claim that this is the solitary activity I have bested her.  Because in Stef, I can have the best possible friend there is.

Belated happy birthday, my dear dear friend.  I’m sorry to have missed dropping you a line on your special day, and I hope you had a great time with loved ones and (of course) your friends.

Love you always!

Leave a Reply

