A Short Note to Tukayo Noel A.


Noel with part of his beautiful family. Precious!

Dear Tokayo Noel :

Whether or not we admit it, a huge part of what we are is shaped by either or both of our parents.  The best proof of this is that by the time we reach a certain age, we become indistinguishable from what our parents were.  I know this, because I look at myself in the mirror these days and see my father and, to a figurative extent, my mother.

I say this because despite us knowing quite a bit about each other in high school, you never told me even the littlest bit about your dad.  From knowing you, I know that your dad was a self-confident, straight to the point and gregarious individual.  Of course we don’t always turn out a lot like our folks, but in this case something tells me you were like him in many ways.

It’s also the best thing they leave behind, our parents.  In us they leave little pieces of themselves, some good, some not so good, but on balance the results can’t be bad.  I can see that in you.

I’m truly sad that your father is no longer with you in person, but I know that he lives on in you and in every person that he loved dearly.  I am comforted in that thought, and I hope you are comforted as well.

Sincerest condolences to you and the rest of the Avisado family, kabatch and sorry I could not make it to your dad’s wake.  I miss our high school days !

YLB Noel B

Leave a Reply

