Speechless but not wordless : Many thanks, muchas gracias, xiexie nin & maraming salamat po


Not sure if nomination means the award itself, but I'm claiming it 🙂

THE LAST time I earned an award was 1972 in 1st Grade, when I was able to use in a single drawing all the crayons in my 16-size Crayola box, Teacher Xu (Shu between a schwa and an umlaut) was so dazzled by my triangle-and-square house and stick figures that she gave me an unheard-of 82 in Art, and proclaimed my drawing (that day) to the rest of my bewildered classmates to be “Most Creative.”  Needless to say, my artistic career was all downhill from there.

Seriously, I don’t ever recall ever being given an award so this one, The Versatile Blogger Award really means a lot to me.  Moreover, coming from a very popular and outstandingly inspiring blogger, Ms Alpha Miguel-Sanford of Aspire. Motivate. Succeed, it’s quite a humbling experience and is one of the few things I can truly be proud of.

I want to make it formal, so to Ms Miguel-Sanford, I thank you sincerely for nominating my blog, and for believing in me ! Because we are both Filipinos, I say proudly maraming maraming salamat po !

If you’ll allow a few personal insights on blogging : it starts out best when you’re at a solitary stage in life, when you are forced to step back and take stock on how much (or little) you’ve done to justify your existence.  Whatever your assessment is becomes(usually) your electronic output, whether it’s done as a chronicle, or as justification, a comparison with greater and lesser lights, or merely an observation of what’s been done, the finished product is a work in progress on that aspect of your life that you wish to expose to the world.

Admittedly, blogging is an exercise in exhibitionism; the more naked and unadorned it is (about ourselves), the better.  For many bloggers, it is unashamedly therapeutic, and the beneficial effects, mostly incidental.  Hopefully, the end justifies the means, right? 🙂

Along the way, you discover kindred souls that say, hey I feel the same way man, and you just put into words what I’ve been feeling / thinking, and because of the power of shared experience, you either influence others into choosing the road you have traveled, or in some cases, avoiding the pitfalls you’ve encountered.  That word influence is a bit presumptuous and quite powerful, but if a person buys into your blog (figuratively only, there’s no purchase involved), you hold in your keystrokes quite a powerful tool that can add value, happiness and satisfaction in other people’s lives.  It may start out as an unintended consequence, but to help others as a byproduct of your blog is a truly rewarding experience.

Another rule that must be followed by the Versatile Blogger awardee is that I must share seven things about myself, which is actually a redundancy on my part as at least half of the blog is devoted to personal life experiences, meaning that by nature I rave and rant about me, myself and I.  So sorry for the self-centeredness, but you’ve probably figured out by now that blogging is self-absorbed in a lot of ways, the way you share best is by sharing what you know best, which is you and your world.  It’s like saying, here I am, warts and all.  Nevertheless, boredom alert sounded and damn the torpedoes, here are my seven tidbits :

I was born on a lazy Friday afternoon at 2.00 pm, barely out of the birth canal and already aching for a TGIF brewsky.

Interpret it any way you want, but I have 4 brothers and no sisters.  I also honored my folks with their first granddaughter, also born on a Friday.

I group these three into one factoid : I love to watch people dance, but suffer congenitally from two left feet; I like being a nocturnal person by overcoming clumsiness in the dark but suffer from selective night blindness; and I can’t swim beyond five feet and four-and-a-half inches (which incidentally is my height).  Don’t these lovable traits go together?

I can’t elaborate on this, but I am probably the oldest student driver I know.  Don’t hate me please.

I don’t have a favorite food / dish, but if I had to recount the most memorable taste experiences, the dishes involved would probably be pork sinigang, Sichuan spicy noodles, Cadbury Picnic bars, Shakey’s Pizza, and my Ilocano yaya’s ginisang sitaw with adobong peanuts.  All these unleash floodgates of memories of yesteryear.

Don’t ask for a reason, but at least once a week, I exercise like crazy early in the day, and then later, undo all the fitness momentum generated by gorging on chips, pastry, soft drinks, and anything else I can get my hands on, and just stuff my face indiscriminately.  I can diet-wise go from supermotivated to superguilty before half the day is over.  I have to do something about that, because esposa hermosa usually catches me, I don’t know if it’s the health negatives or the getting caught that depresses me more.  As they say, at least I live to fight another day.

Have we reached seven yet?  This is related to Tidbit # 4 , but I still bike to work everyday.  I’m getting tired of using the pushbike while fighting gusty winter winds, so it will probably change this year.  Beyond that, I will probably elaborate later.

I pay forward the Versatile Blogger Award to the following :

1. Foodtrip by Nors Vargas

2.  Story of a girl by Katt

3.  Text and Photos by Jude Bautista by Jude Bautista

4.  Straight from the heart by Catherine Vi Clausen

5.  Something to read by Lilia Nicole

6. Lawyer on the Run by runningconsiglieri

That’s it for now.  I can’t think of anything more to say, other than something humorous and tongue-in-cheek : “I am a drinker with a writing problem.”  Given all the treasures afforded to us by bloggers and blogging, a writing problem is certainly one we can all live with !

From the bottom of my heart, thanks all the guys in WordPress.com, Alpha Miguel, and all the visitors to our crazy little blog !  God bless you all always !

Noel

8 thoughts on “Speechless but not wordless : Many thanks, muchas gracias, xiexie nin & maraming salamat po

    • you definitely deserve it Nurse Katt, your narratives and essays are breathtaking and in a class of their own 🙂 Mabuhay and continue to proudly brandish the banner of the OFW wherever you are !

  1. I feel a little guilty for getting your nomination. i’m not as open with my personal life as you. Thank you for the nomination. in my mind you’re more deserving of the Versatile Blogger Award. Ciao!

Leave a Reply

